California’s and Nevada’s Authoritative Voice of Ice and Inline Hockey

Three Kings, Ducks’ Rakell, Sharks’ Burns named to 2018 NHL All-Star Game



The NHL announced Wednesday the teams of players who will play in the 2018 NHL All-Star Game on Jan. 28 in Tampa, Fla.


Los Angeles Kings center and captain Anze Kopitar, goaltender Jonathan Quick and defenseman Drew Doughty join Anaheim Ducks center Rickard Rakell and San Jose Sharks defenseman Brent Burns.

All will represent the Pacific Division at Amalie Arena.

The Kings are the only NHL team in the Western Conference to have three players selected for the All-Star Game.

Today’s announcement marks the fourth consecutive NHL All-Star Game selection for Doughty and fourth overall. This is Kopitar’s fourth All-Star Game selection (2015, 2011 and 2008) and Quick’s third All-Star Game selection (2016 and 2012).

Rakell will make his first All-Star appearance at this year’s event.

For Burns, the reigning Norris Trophy winner, this is his fifth career All-Star Game appearance (2011, 2015, 2016, and 2017), and his fourth as a member of the Sharks.

Rakell photo/Anaheim Ducks

(Jan. 11, 2018)