California Rubber

California’s and Nevada’s Authoritative Voice of Hockey

California natives Robertson, Wolf claim CHL national awards for 2018-19 season


The Canadian Hockey League (CHL) on Saturday announced the 10 national award winners for the 2018-19 season, presented as part of the 2019 Memorial Cup presented by Kia festivities in Halifax, N.S.

Two California natives were honored by the CHL as well.


Emera Top Scorer Award: Jason Robertson, Niagara IceDogs

Robertson led the CHL with 117 points in 62 games, counting 48 goals and 69 assists to help guide the IceDogs to a second-place regular-season finish in the OHL’s Eastern Conference. Following a midseason trade from the Kingston Frontenacs, the Dallas Stars prospect and Los Angeles Jr. Kings and Pasadena Maple Leafs alum pushed the pace with his new club, tallying 79 points in 38 games. The 19-year-old native of Arcadia is the first OHL skater to claim the Top Scorer Award since Dylan Strome (Erie Otters) did so in 2015.


CIBC Scholastic Player of the Year Award: Dustin Wolf, Everett Silvertips

Wolf excelled both on the ice and in the classroom, where he maintained a 100 percent average across a Grade 12 workload covering four courses. Between the pipes, the 18-year-old Tustin native and Jr. Kings graduate led the WHL with 41 wins, while also topping the charts with a 1.69 goals-against average and .936 save percentage. The budding netminder, who is eligible for the 2019 NHL Draft, is the first WHL player to claim the award since Josh Morrissey (Prince Albert Raiders) in 2013.

Photos/Vincent Ethier

(May 26, 2019)

Free Website Hit Counter
Free website hit counter