California Rubber

California’s and Nevada’s Authoritative Voice of Hockey

Nine teams bring home banners at Inland Empire Tournament Series’ MLK Shootout


The Inland Empire Tournament Series MLK Shootout was staged Jan. 14-17 at Icetown Carlsbad and Icetown Riverside, with nine teams crowned division champions.

Three titles were decided in overtime.

8U A East Winners (SDIA)

8U A East
Champs: SDIA
Runner-up: California Golden Bears
The Oilers claimed the championship with a hard-fought 7-4 win over the Golden Bears.

8U A North Winners (SDIA)

8U A North
Champs: SDIA
Runner-up: Los Angeles Jr. Kings
Lainey Nava Anderson only allowed one goal for the Oilers, whose strong offense led the team to a 7-1 victory over the Jr. Kings.

8U A West Winners (Jr. Gulls)

8U A West
Champs: San Diego Jr. Gulls
Runner-up: Las Vegas Storm
The Jr. Gulls scored often against the Storm to grab the banner in an 8-1 win.

8U B East winners (JR. Reign)_new

8U B East
Champs: Jr. Reign Carlsbad
Runner-up: Ontario Moose
In a thrilling finish, the Jr. Reign found the back of the net for a 7-6 overtime victory on home ice.

8U B North Winners (Storm)

8U B North
Champs: Las Vegas Storm
Runner-up: Jr. Reign Black
The Storm’s offense was too much for the Jr. Reign in a lopsided win for the championship.

8U B West Winners (Goldrush)

8U B West
Champs: California Gold Rush
Runner-up: San Diego Jr. Gulls
In a very tight game, the Gold Rush was one better than the Jr. Gulls, taking the title in a 7-6 nail-biter.

12U Winners (Ontario Moose)

Champs: Ontario Moose
Runner-up: San Diego Jr. Gulls 10U
Wes Waites had two goals and two assists while Max Halter posted a hat trick and Ralph Bracamonte scored twice to lead the Moose to an 8-2 win and the title. Eben Austin chipped in two assists and Wyatt Waites also scored.

14U Winners (OCHC)

Champs: OCHC
Runner-up: Ontario Moose
Ryan Kovats was the overtime hero for OCHC, scoring the winner 2:45 into the extra session for the 2-1 win. Amir Youssef scored in regulation and Samuel Cisneros earned the win in goal. Joseph Dimichina scored the lone Moose goal and Grady Amen was solid between the pipes.

Midget Winners (Stingrays)

Champs: Stingrays
Runner-up: Jr. Reign 16U AA
Max Martinov netted the winner 3:31 into overtime for a 3-2 win. Edward Balasz and Kale Chominsky also scored to back Jacob Malo’s win in goal. Payton Hixon had a goal and an assist for the Jr. Reign and Jaiden Millender added a goal. Ethan Han was stellar in net.

The next event in the Inland Empire Tournament Series is the Presidents’ Day Open, which is scheduled for Feb. 18-21.

For more information or to register for the MLK event or any other Inland Empire Tournament Series event, visit

Photos/Top Team Photography

— Matt Mackinder

(January 26, 2022)

Free Website Hit Counter
Free website hit counter