California Rubber

California’s and Nevada’s Authoritative Voice of Ice and Inline Hockey

Nine teams win division championships at Inland Empire Tournament Series’ Presidents’ Day Open


The Inland Empire Tournament Series, created and hosted by the Jr. Reign, continued its 2022-23 season Feb. 17-20 with the Presidents’ Day Open at Icetown Riverside and Ontario Center Ice.

A total of nine teams brought home championship banners at the conclusion of the exciting weekend.

8U South
Champion: Jr. Reign RV2
Runner-up: Stockton Colts
The offense was out on full display for the Jr. Reign in bringing home the championship banner with a 12-5 win.

8U North
Champion: Henderson Silver Knights
Runner-up: Jr. Reign RV2
Defense and scoring took the title for the Silver Knights in an 8-0 shutout to claim the championship.

10U South
Champion: Jr. Reign Carlsbad
Runner-up: Mammoth Stars
In a tight game throughout, the Jr. Reign won the title with a 7-6 win, getting three goals in the third period to get the job done. Roman Cournoyer went for two goals and an assist, Sean McManus added two goals, and Kiril Ignatev, Sawyer Ormeno, and Jaxson Jonas scored one each to back Elias MacDonald‘s effort in goal. For the Stars, Noah Geffre scored four goals with an assist, and Grant Duff and Blaise Pondella chipped in goals.

10U North
Champion: Stockton Colts
Runner-up: OCHC
Owen Colao tallied four goals and two assists for the Colts in the 7-1 victory. Dalton Lenhardt added two goals and two assists and Jeremy Mayes scored the other. Joshua Brown took the win in goal. For OCHC, Anthony Durka scored and Landon Miller was between the pipes.

12U South
Champion: AV Avalanche
Runner-up: Jr. Reign Carlsbad
The Avalanche took the 7-3 win on the strength of a Zain Saleh hat trick and single goals from Mason Murphy, Lyric Taylor, Luke Thurston-Defelice, and Neo Kholev Mukhin. Mateo Erceg-Kopkind had a goal and an assist for the Jr. Reign, while Graam Lindsay and Brooks Arnold also tallied goals. Rocco Mascloveccio played well in goal.

12U North (pictured at top)
Champion: Goldrush BB
Runner-up: Jr. Reign RV BB
Timofey Purvins had three goals in a 4-3 win for the Goldrush. Adam Burke added a goal and an assist and Gavin Ramirez chipped in a pair of assists. Richard Whitehead scored two goals for the Jr. Reign and Oleksandr Kyrylenko added a goal with an assist.

Champion: SF Sabercats
Runner-up: Stockton Colts
Marc Borzoni and Ethan Ngo each scored twice in a 5-1 win for the Sabercats. Cooper Lewis added a goal and an assist and Trevor Luhning contributed three assists and David Cuperstein two helpers with Carlos Ayon taking the win in net. Donovan Soliven scored for the Colts and Miles Cooper was solid between the pipes.

Champion: Bishop Broncos
Runner-up: Corona Norco Stingrays
Ryan Mojarro scored a pair of goals to pace the Broncos to a 4-2 win and the JV championship. Aden Arndal added a goal and an assist in the victory. For the Stingrays, Jason Beckman and Jacob Pacillas scored.

Champion: Capistrano Coyotes
Runner-up: Stockton Colts
The Coyotes led from buzzer to buzzer and skated away with the title after a 6-0 shutout.

The next IE Tournament Series event is the Memorial Day Showdown, which is scheduled for May 26-29.

For more information or to register, visit

Photos/Jr. Reign

— Matt Mackinder

(February 23, 2023)

Free Website Hit Counter
Free website hit counter