California Rubber

California’s and Nevada’s Authoritative Voice of Ice and Inline Hockey

Champs crowned at Carmen Starr Classic


A record-tying 75 teams from Arizona, Alaska, California, Colorado, Texas, Alberta and British Columbia, as well as Ukraine, converged on four Southern California rinks last weekend to compete in the sixth annual Los Angeles Jr. Kings-hosted Carmen Starr Memorial Day Classic, which ran from May 22-25.

Champions were crowned in 11 divisions: 2001 Elite (Bauer Selects West); 2001 AAA (San Diego Jr. Gulls); 2002 Elite (San Jose Sharp Shooters); 2003 Elite (Bauer Selects West); 2003 AAA (Golden State Eagles); 2004 Elite (Anaheim Jr. Ducks); 2005 Elite (Dallas Whalers); 2005 Brick (British Columbia Jr. Canucks); 2006 Elite (Anaheim Jr. Ducks); 2007 Elite (California Patriots); and 2008 Elite (Los Angeles Jr. Kings).

“It hasn’t taken long for this tournament to evolve into the premier spring showcase on the West Coast, and we expect it to become even bigger and better in the coming years,” said tournament director Brian McDonough. “There was plenty of great competition in every division this year, and that speaks volumes about the effort each player, coach, team manager and family put forth to make the weekend such a success. We want to thank them all for participating.”

Most Valuable Player awards were recognized in the 2001 through 07 divisions, with each receiving a hockey stick, compliments of Bauer Hockey and Rubber Hockey Magazines: 2001 Elite (David Vieten, Bauer Selects West); 2001 AAA (Josh Groll, San Diego Jr. Gulls); 2002 Elite (Brendan Williams, San Jose Sharp Shooters); 2003 Elite (Ean Somoza, Bauer Selects West); 2003 AAA (Daniel Yusupoff, Golden State Eagles); 2004 Elite (Brandon Grant, Anaheim Jr. Ducks); 2005 Elite (Peyton Millitello, Dallas Whalers); 2005 Brick (Owen Beckner, British Columbia Jr. Canucks); 2006 Elite (Tanner Henricks, Anaheim Jr. Ducks); and 2007 Elite (Savin Virk, California Patriots).

Division champions were also awarded a banner and trophy, and all players on the championship teams received medals. Players on the runner-up teams in each division also received medals.

This year’s Carmen Starr games were contested at Toyota Sports Center (El Segundo), The Rinks-Lakewood Ice (Lakewood), KHS Ice Arena (Anaheim) and Skating Edge Ice Arena (Harbor City).

“We can’t thank enough the staffs at our satellite facilities, as well as all of our volunteers, for making this tournament the most successful in its short history,” McDonough added. “We’re lucky to have so many great, selfless people on our team to help make events of this scope hit on all cylinders.

“We also want to thank our restaurant partners – Grimaldi’s Pizzeria and Rock & Brews – for their outstanding hospitality throughout the weekend.”

The Carmen Starr Memorial Day Classic is part of the Jr. Kings’ Tinseltown Tournament Series. Pre-registration is now open for the Series’ four 2015-16 events: the Labor Day Hockey Fest (Sept. 4-7); Thanksgiving Extravaganza (Nov. 26-29); Presidents’ Day Challenge (Feb. 12-15, 2016); and Carmen Starr Memorial Day Classic (May 27-30, 2016).

“We have an exciting 2015-16 tournament calendar lined up and are looking forward to hosting a lot of great programs from not only California, but across North America,” McDonough said. “Between our first-class home facility (Toyota Sports Center), proximity to LAX and the great competition we regularly attract, coupled with everything else the Los Angeles area has to offer away from the rink, our events are weekend destinations an entire family can enjoy.”

For more information and to pre-register for any or all four events, visit

Free Website Hit Counter
Free website hit counter