California Rubber

California’s and Nevada’s Authoritative Voice of Ice and Inline Hockey

IE Tournament Series ends 2022-23 season with 14 teams winning divisions at Memorial Day Showdown


The Inland Empire Tournament Series, created and hosted by the Jr. Reign, wrapped up its 2022-23 season May 26-29 with the Memorial Day Showdown at LA Kings Icetown, Icetown Carlsbad, San Diego Ice Arena, Toyota Arena, and Ontario Center Ice Arena.

The event proved to be the largest spring tournament in Southern California.

A total of 14 teams brought home championship banners at the conclusion of the exciting weekend.

8U Silver North
Champion: Hockey Factory Swarm
Runner-up: California Prospects
The Swarm edged the Prospects 3-2 to take the championship title.

8U Silver South
Champion: San Diego Selects
Runner-up: San Diego Jr. Gulls
In a spirited game, the Selects took the title with a close 7-6 win over the Jr. Gulls

8U Gold (pictured top)
Champion: California Prospects
Runner-up: San Diego Jr. Gulls (1)
The Prospects went on a scoring spree and defeated the Jr. Gulls 10-4 to bring home the championship banner.

10U Gold
Champion: San Diego Selects
Runner-up: California Prospects
Brayden Langridge figured in on all four goals for the Selects in a 4-1 win to claim the title. Bartu Barutcu and Aidan Swing also scored. For the Prospects, Brennan Holbrook netted the lone goal. Lainey Nava Anderson took the win in goal for the Selects. Abby Stolik and Kian Phan shared time in goal for the Prospects.

10U Silver
Champion: Las Vegas Ice Warriors
Runner-up: Jr. Reign Carlsbad
Matthew Genco’s two goals led the Ice Warriors to the championship with a 5-1 win over the Jr. Reign. Max Boswell, Aiden Nelson and Cole Ferderer added goals while Hunter Turner added two assists and Boswell chipped in an assist for a multi-point game. Caleb Weinstein and Viggo Jackson combined for the win in goal for the Ice Warriors. Jace Copple scored the Jr. Reign’s lone goal and Holt Picazo was sharp between the pipes.

12U Gold
Champion: Jr. Reign Black
Runner-up: Natty Hatty
Spencer Willis scored two goals and Trevor Lester went for a goal and three assists as the Jr. Reign defeated Natty Hatty 5-3 for the title. George Barrett and Zachary Sada added goals and Jayden Kehrier and Rene Michaels was stellar in goal. Hiroto Harano had a goal and an assist for Natty Hatty, Maia Gumapas and Paz Cisneros also scored, and Daphne Chacon Lopez tacked on two assists. Dash Reed was sharp between the pipes.

12U Silver
Champion: Natty Hatty (2)
Runner-up: On It Prospects
Luca Lefebvre scored two goals with an assist to pace Natty Hatty past the On It Prospects by a 7-1 count. Everett Baker collected a goal and two assists while Brenna Hunt, Ayden Gatica, Emmet Billingsley and Kaveh Majma also scored with Mya Deguzzis taking the win in goal. Mason Murohy scored for the Prospects and Abby Stolik and Amelia Keener shared time in the Prospects net.

12U Bronze
Champion: Las Vegas Ice Warriors
Runner-up: Jr. Reign White
The Ice Warriors defeated the Jr. Reign 4-1 with four different goal scorers – Colten Geurink, Hunter Savini, Liam O’Brien, also with an assist, and Valentino Guadagna – to win the championship. Braedyn Rhyder Koo scored for the Jr. Reign.

14U Gold
Champion: San Diego Selects
Runner-up: Jr. Reign Black
The Selects’ offense was on fire in taking the title with a 7-1 win over the Jr. Reign. Turner Munsch scored three goals while Dominic Anello, also with an assist, Cole Frayer, Skyler Armstrong and Matthew Mendez tallied one goal each. Christian Collins and Evan Frayer posted two assists each. Logan Alsing scored the Jr. Reign’s goal.

14U Silver
Champion: Las Vegas Ice Warriors
Runner-up: Jr. Reign White
Offense was the name of the game as the Ice Warriors downed the Jr. Reign 7-6 to bring home the championship banner. Amir Attar finished with two goals and an assist, Chase Spencer added a goal and two assists, and David Al-Jubori chipped in a goal and a helper. Ethan May, Ryder Darnell and Clayton Chase also scored and Emmry Anderson earned the win in net. For the Jr. Reign, Brian Duffy popped four goals with an assist, and Sebastian Hernandez recorded a goal and an assist. Derek Skene also scored. James Paz and Luna Tapia-Bedolla played well in goal.

JV North
Champion: San Diego Saints
Runner-up: Fresno Monsters
The Saints used a balanced offensive attack to defeat the Monsters 6-1 and secure the championship banner. Jean-Felix Gagne had two goals and two assists, Jack Boland registered a goal and an assist, Samuel Albano added a goal with two assists, and Jeremy Adkins and Cale Flaherty also scored. Asher Armstrong netted Fresno’s goal.

JV South
Champion: Ventura Mariners
Runner-up: San Diego Selects
Cayenne Inbar had a goal and an assist and four other players scored as the Mariners blanked the Selects 5-0 for the title. Nathaniel Alvarado, Jayden Becerra, Ryan Gardner and Ryder O’Connell, with a helper to boot, also scored in the win.

Varsity North
Champion: Jr. Reign Black
Runner-up: West Ranch
The Jr. Reign won the championship with a 7-0 victory over West Ranch. Yubo Geng scored twice, Landen Gallardo and Kevin Yousefpour had a goal and an assist each, and John Ruggiero notched one goal.

Varsity South
Champion: San Diego Selects
Runner-up: Paramount Ice Quakes
This tight title game saw the Selects edge Paramount 3-2 to win the championship. Simon Mantoani had a goal and an assist and Matthew Matsuda and Michael Nilsen scored one each in the victory. Troy Smith and Nathan Laporte scored for Paramount.

Registration is now open for the 2023-24 Inland Empire Tournament Series events. Visit for more information and to register.

Photos/Jr. Reign Hockey Club

— Matt Mackinder

(June 9, 2023)

Free Website Hit Counter
Free website hit counter